Diversity Committee


The Diversity Committee shall encourage and promote diversity among under-represented and under-served groups in our legal and broader community.  The primary focus is diversity of the Akron Bar Association and the Summit County legal community.

Diversity Committee Leadership
  • Bradley S. S. Dunn


  • Alvaro L. DeCola



Diversity Award:

The Diversity Award celebrates a business or organization that demonstrates a commitment to a diversity and inclusion in Summit County.

Award Qualifications:

  • Demonstrate a consistent pattern of the organization’s commitment to the recruitment, retention and promotion of individuals of underrepresented populations;
  • Cultivate and promote diversity initiatives that establish and foster a more inclusive and equitable work environment;
  • Promote and facilitate equitable education and social engagement with and between people of varying ethnic or religious backgrounds, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, and/or physical and mental capabilities;
  • Exhibit visionary and insightful leadership to confront and resolve inequities through strategic decision-making, allocation of resources, and establishment of priorities;
  • Outline defined goals, actions steps and accomplishments toward achieving a work environment that recognizes, promotes and encourages a diverse workforce at all levels throughout an organization;
  • Create new and progressive best practices that support diversity and inclusion goals.

Nomination Deadline:

  • Annually prior to the 1st day of April

Nomination Form:

Past Diversity Award Recipients:

  • Professor Martin H. Belsky, The University of Akron School of Law (2017)
  • Not awarded (2016)
  • Akron/Canton Barristers (2015)
  • Professor Joann M. Sahl, The University of Akron School of Law (2014)
  • Lee Gill, Office of Inclusion & Equity, The University of Akron (2013)
  • Athony O’Leary, Akron Metropolitan Housing Authority (2012)

Staff Liaison:

Director of Membership
(330) 436-0106